Barraba


Charlie Hart.jpg

CHARLIE hART

I was born in Narrabri in January 1967. My first school was Burren Junction Public. I attained my Auctioneer, Stock and Station Agents and Real Estate Agents licence while attending Hawkesbury Ag College.

After Ag College I commenced work with Dalgety Winchcombe FGC in November of 1987 at the head office, transferring to the Moree Branch two months later.

In 1995 I purchased the Barraba branch and commenced business under a franchise model until 2016. From then we became Hart Rural Agencies. The business is owned by myself and my wife Lucy as directors of CB Hart Pty Ltd.

I have 6 children and live on a farm on the outskirts of town. I enjoy family life, running the business and running the farms. I relax by boating, water skiing and spending time with my wife and kids.


JARROD hANNAFORD

I took on a job as Livestock Salesman for Charlie back in September 2003. In this time I’ve enjoyed working with our clients helping get the best possible prices for their stock as well as doing the hands on mustering and calf marking service we provide.

Jarrod.jpg

Brent Johnston- Agronomy and Merchandise.jpg

BRENT Johnson

My role at Hart Rural is Agronomist & Merchandise Sales and I have been with the company for nearly five years.

I was born in Tamworth, attended school in Barraba, went to the University of New England and completed a Bachelor of Agriculture Science majoring in Agronomy.

I worked at Tamworth Research Institute for three years on the Durum Wheat Breeding program, worked at Cotton Grower Services as a Sales Agronomist in Gunnedah for 12 months, and have been at Hart Rural ever since.

I enjoy working in the agriculture industry as it is constantly evolving and this in return keeps the workplace both challenging and interesting.


Mark Heywood

I have worked for CB Hart Pty Ltd since 2002. I started here as a shed rat and have slowly worked my way up the ranks. I now am a Merchandise Salesman. 

I moved to Barraba in 1988 so I’m almost a local. I am married to the lovely Terri and she deserves a medal for putting up with me.

My favourite part of my job is working Saturdays instead of going fishing.

mark-heywood

tracy-kelly

Tracy kelly

I commenced work August 1996 after a 10 year banking career.

21 years later, a couple of stops and starts around 2 children, I’m still here.

In the beginning, the office consisted of 4 people.  In the time since, I have seen the business grow into 3 branches with a staff in excess of 30.

The current 2 stores and staff of 20 ensures every day is a busy one for myself and the admin team. 

In between the years of hard work there has also been plenty of fun times. 

Some say there is no competition between stores, but nobody told that to the staff the times we hosted clay target shooting, tenpin bowling, golf, and lawn bowls xmas parties.

Over those 21 years my job has never been boring. There has been many good times, and many tough times in the agricultural industry over that time.

The field staff including the livestock, merchandise, agronomy and real estate teams are always ensuring the admin team keep on our toes, and keep up to date in this ever changing world.

I have overseen the office move from pen, paper and the trusty notebooks, to the digital era of today.

We take so many photo’s, we shoot video’s as market reports, and now some of the team have to learn to fly drones to sell a property. 

I could write a book on the many ways in which a motor vehicle can be damaged by the field staff, the livestock department would take out any prize on offer. 

The field staff have also educated me in handwriting skills that one could never learn at school. 

That book would also contain a chapter titled “How to make it rain”, those methods vary depending on how dire the need is, but usually involves a sacrifice to the gods in dry times. 

Put simply, my role is one of working with numbers, so the other daily events makes it great fun


Tracy Walker

I’ve been working for CB Hart Pty Ltd since 2005.

 I’ve done a few different roles over the years but predominantly now I do accounts payable & payroll.

 I am originally from the Lake Macquarie/Newcastle area & I moved to Upper Horton for a bit of a change. 

Thankfully Charlie offered me a job & then after meeting Phil – I’ve never left! Phil & I now have three children Lachie, Hamish & Stella so between their rugby, AFL, cricket & swimming, we’re kept very busy! 

tracy-walker

Sinclair Houghson - Real Estate.jpg

Sinclair Hughson

I have previously worked on properties for about thirty years, mainly down in the Horton Valley.

I had a four-year stint on an irrigation property in the Hunter Valley, realised how much I didn’t know about agriculture.

For the last five years, Charlie has employed me to do Property Management and Residential Sales for Hart Rural Agencies in Barraba.

I am passionate about Barraba and what it has to offer. I have been involved in various sporting and community groups and like to have a fair go for the cause at hand


Ashley McNeill

I have been working at Hart Rural since 2011, my job has evolved a fair bit since I first started but these days I work in Real Estate and Livestock Admin. 

My favourite part of my job is the diversity. Every day is a little bit different. I never know what is going to come my way. 

I am Barraba born and bred and have spent majority of my working life with CB Hart. I love spending time with my family and going for a spot of fishing with my partner Mitch.

ashley-mcneil

Tessa Cameron - Livestock and Merchandise.jpg

Tessa Cameron

I started with Hart Rural in December 2015 when we moved from Roma Qld to Bingara to my husband’s family farm. 

I was born and bred in Tumut NSW, where my family had a stock and station agency. Ever since I was a little rascal following my dad around the saleyards I knew livestock was what I wanted to do. Eventually I got there but it has involved a lot of stops along the way.


GEMMA ROTHWELL

I have been working for Hart Rural since February 2016. I started out in Residential Sales and Property Management at the Manilla store, and have since moved across to Marketing.

My work background includes accounts and administration, advertising, presenting on community radio and working as a farm hand.

I grew up near Windsor NSW and love being outdoors. I live on a property in Upper Manilla with my partner, dogs, chickens and cows.

Gemma.jpg